The Hill House

The Hill House in Helensburgh is considered to be an architectural masterpiece.

Commissioned by the Glasgow publisher Walter Blackie and completed in 1904, both the exterior and interior of the house were designed by Charles Rennie Mackintosh, working with his wife Margaret Macdonald Mackintosh, and are an exemplar of the ‘Glasgow style‘.

Unfortunately, the external render of the building is no longer watertight, and the National Trust for Scotland, which owns the property, has embarked on a 10 year conservation programme. The House has been encased in a protective steel chainmail ‘Box‘ to protect it from the elements. Visitors are now able to get a unique perspective of the House from the walkways of the Box, as well as being able to visit the interior of the House. In 2021 The Box, designed by architectural firm Carmody Groarke, was named by the Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland (RIAS) as one of the country’s best new buildings.

The Hill House is open daily 10am-5pm (last entry 16:00). Advance booking is not currently required. There is also a café and award winning gift shop at the site.

View of the Hill House and Box

HIll House illustration by Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Architect, from the Studio Yearbook 1907. Public Domain. https://commons.wikimedia.org/wiki/File:The_Hill_House,_Helensburgh_02.jpg
HIll House illustration by Charles Rennie Mackintosh, Studio Yearbook 1907.
Hill House, Helensburgh. CC-BY-SA/2.0 - © Anthony O'Neil - geograph.org.uk/photo/1570964
Hill House, Helensburgh. Credit: Anthony O’Neil, CC-BY-SA/2.0

The Hill House
Upper Colquhoun Street
Helensburgh
Argyll and Bute
G84 9AJ

Scroll to Top
X